A Return to Normalcy

<3 chair

❤ chair

In the words of Slug from Atmosphere, “When life gives you lemons, paint that shit gold.” Life gave me lemons recently, but due to the efforts and care of many selfless individuals all is going swimmingly now. I have been going to a really stellar clinic and receiving excellent care for my infected wound. It hardly resembles the bulbous mass of pain it once was! Indeed with the reduction in pain comes a return to normalcy. I can get groceries, do my homework, sleep through the night and visit with friends. Indeed, my life is now a sharp contrast to the inability and dependability that marked my recent hospitalization. Thanks again to everyone who came and helped me, namely Dad, Milan, Salma, Lydia and all the great folks at Gardner Hall who never huffed and puffed at my requests for help. I can only wait until the universe gives me an opportunity to pay the kindness and concern I received forward.

Pictured to the left is a chair that I acquired from the McLennan Library on campus who had no need for this old wooden relic. Indeed, it was quite plain prior to its artsy rebirth. Myself, Alex from 4th floor, Erynn and a host of others have made artistic contributions to the chair, rendering it a far superior specimen. I had been waiting for an opportunity to use the paints that Julianne Brown gave me for my birthday, and I am quite pleased that they eventually served such a groovy purpose. I know deep in my heart that she would be proud to take a seat on Jørgen, Throne of Deep Pontification.

Tomorrow I finally get to return to school! I can hardly contain my relief and excitement at being able to finally get back on track. I am fairly well doomed for Philosophy, having missed every lecture thus far on Taylor’s Metaphysics. The same goes for German Literature and Wallenstein’s Death, however I know that Professor Piper will exercise mercy and help me along the way. French and US History, while daunting, will prove less of a trying task in the catch up department. Furthermore, two large papers hang over my head and despite being extended till the end of the term due to my medical problems I still quiver at the thought of process and product. However, I know it’ll get done some way or another.

In super exciting news, John Frusciante, guitar player for RHCP, has recently made some exciting new announcements. First and foremost, John will be writing in a new blog. I have always found his outlook on life and perspective on music to be very intriguing and can hardly wait to see what this long-time idol of mine has to share with the world. Furthermore, John has recently announced the release of his new album, “The Empyrean”(cover art pictured below). It contains ten tracks and if it follows in the footsteps of its predecessor, Curtains, it should rock my world and tickle my soul. I can hardly count the days until January 20th for this album that “should be played as loud as possible… in dark living rooms late at night”. Alright, well, that’s all folks.

Salut,
sash

empyrean cover

empyrean cover

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “A Return to Normalcy

  1. Robbie

    I tried John’s exercise and found it to be a head scratcher as well as musically stimulating. Glad to hear you’re feeling better

  2. It’s great to hear that you are feeling better. Please let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

    Hopefully, we will find ourselves in the same city again soon.

  3. Alysson

    Is it weird that I’m jealous of your strange talent in home decoration? Cuz I totally am.

  4. Alena Prazak

    It is beautiful to hear your optimism in your voice! I have been in agony hearing about your painful struggle over the past weeks. I hope that there will be just blue skies ahead. The chair is gorgeous.

  5. Oleh

    Felicitations for your return to health.

    I enjoyed hearing of the history of the chair as I was also intrigued by it.

Leave a Reply

