Aeroplane Blues

Aeroplane

Aeroplane

As I sit at gate C-51, prepped to take Air Canada 150 back to Montreal’s Trudeau Airport, I look back on my trip home for the holidays. Overwhelmingly, my desire is that it did not have to end so soon. It’s a cruel thing having to say good-bye to the place and the people you love twice in just a few months. I once again depart reaffirmed just how incredible Vancouver and Vancouverites are. However, life goes on and I do feel truly blessed to be able to live in Montréal and study there. So, I should really remain positive knowing that it won’t be long ’till I am once more in the company of old friends. Some highlights of the trip were:
– Laura’s birthday party at Jonah’s house
– Gaming with Kwang-Hee again. You have no idea how much I missed that guy.
– Hanging with Brenner, Peebles, D-Mac, Par, Wasy, Cole, Meri and all those great people.
– Seeing Robbie and Courtney – you guys never fail to amaze me with your love for me and eachother
– Capture the flag with Sclark, Brynn, Peebles, Brenner, Paul and all those Ians(and the Bolderdashing afterwards)
– Christmas, but that goes without saying.
– New Years for a few reasons:
1. Jorgen blessed me with his presence on this joyous day/eve
2. Seeing all the old drama folk at Ethan’s house.
3. Some much needed communication between me and a certain someone special(Thank goodness : – ])
– Sleeping until any time I damn-well pleased.
– The village in the wee morning hours reminding me of simpler days.

Those are just the ones that come to my sleep-deprived mind at the moment. It would be impossible to sum up all the great highlights of this trip. Everything from the evergreen trees of the West Coast to the unexpected snow made this a trip to remember. Overwhelmingly, this holiday confirmed two things to me. Firstly, that home is where the heart is. Secondly, no matter where I go or how I change, home pretty well stays the same. The former is a cliché that can’t properly be appreciated until you leave the nest. The latter is a new-found truth that will comfort me during the hard times that life alone presents. Thank you everyone.

sash

5 Comments

Filed under Family, Friends, Holidays, Life, Montreal

5 responses to “Aeroplane Blues

  1. Ryan Swanson

    <3.

    See you soon buddy.

  2. Robbie

    Till next time man

  3. semisane

    Thanks guys, enjoy ’09!

  4. Alena

    When your growing up children come home, it is always a moment of magic. Every separation creates some important changes as well as more appreciation and wonder. It was so good to have you home Sash!

  5. Alysson

    I saw you. I promised I would and I did. It was mebe half a second. I was in the car driving to a Christmas party and I saw you and Jeff Marr and some unidentified individual standing in the middle of highlands road in the snow. It was good to see you… even for half a second.

Leave a comment