Smooooooth Transition

Kitty catches some Z's!

Kitty catches some Z's!

Don’t you just love it when from the moment you take off to the moment you touch down in a trans-continental flight you are fast asleep? I sure do. This flight definitely contrasted my earlier experience with Air Canada a few weeks ago. In the future I may just have to always fly sleep-deprived, seems to work wonders. Sleep has always been a fascinating topic, we discussed it briefly in my Intro to Psych class(mostly the importance of dreams) I definitely have some crazy dreams. I was on Digg a few weeks ago and saw an article containing 40 facts about sleep you probably didn’t know. Here are some of my faves:

The record for the longest period without sleep is 18 days, 21 hours, 40 minutes during a rocking chair marathon. The record holder reported hallucinations, paranoia, blurred vision, slurred speech and memory and concentration lapses. We must fight to keep our kids off of rocking chair marathons. It is a chilling epidemic sweeping the Mid-West and portions of the South where handicraft-based artisan markets thrive and it is corrupting our children!

No-one knows for sure if other species dream but some do have sleep cycles similar to humans. Hmm, personally, and without any scientific grounds to base this upon, I declare that animals do dream. All who challenge my theory will face me at dawn in fisticuffs.

Elephants sleep standing up during non-REM sleep, but lie down for REM sleep. I lie down for both.

Scientists have not been able to explain a 1998 study showing a bright light shone on the backs of human knees can reset the brain’s sleep-wake cycle. The human body is crazy.

Ducks at risk of attack by predators are able to balance the need for sleep and survival, keeping one half of the brain awake while the other slips into sleep mode. Finally, an explanation for why Psyduck was such a useless Pokémon except for when he used his other, psychicly awesome yet dosey, hemisphere.

Experts say one of the most alluring sleep distractions is the 24-hour accessibility of the internet. LIES! Lies and slander I tells ya!

Anyways, in other news, it’s cool to be back in Montréal. As soon as I touched down the city retaught me the meaning of cold. In a relative sense, snowy Vancouver was like Hawaii over the break. So I hitched up my scarf and made my way back to res. When I arrived, I found a ghost town, not a soul in sight. Luckily my friend Emmet from Molson was around so he came over, we got Pitas, then played games and hung out. Hopefully more people come back to res soon so we can all hop on some rocking chairs and get the party started!

Till’ next time,
sash

4 Comments

Filed under Friends, Fun, Holidays, Links, Montreal, Science

4 responses to “Smooooooth Transition

  1. Oleh

    “Ducks at risk of attack by predators are able to balance the need for sleep and survival, keeping one half of the brain awake while the other slips into sleep mode.”

    This is very interesting about ducks. Do any other species have brains which function in this way as it certainly can be useful.

  2. Robbie

    Hey man, my computer keeps tracking a network intruder called BonerComp…any one you know perchance?

  3. A month with ne’er a word! You are a neglectful blogger!

  4. oleh

    I am someone who
    1. struggles to maintain sleep
    2. likes an easy solution

    Therefore i was intrigued when someone suggested that rubbing a teaspoon of castor oil on your stomach before going to sleep helps sleeping problems. The cost is minimal. $2.99 a 100 ml bottle (suitable for 20 applications). There are no side effects identified on the bottle.

    I tried in twice. First night slept well and second night Ok. Have not done it for a while but with needing to get some more sleep tonight I will give it a go.

    and hopefully G’Night.

Leave a Reply

