Azn Persuazn

 

Bruce

Bruce

As my freshman year at university is quickly wrapping up I can’t help but already feel nostalgiac. The fears that permeated my mind in the year’s beginning have all but evaporated in this truly amazing environment. The friends I have made, the experiences and knowledge I’ve attained, have all culminated into a learning experience that cannot be contained within the confines of the GPA system. There is now, more than ever, a rhyme and reason to my life and education in Montreal. I feel blessed to have been able to be here and meet all the wonderful friends I know will stay in my heart forever. Gardner Hall will only be my home for 15 more days and I plan to cherish them as much as I can. It’s not often we get the chance to live in a building so densely packed with fly people. I’ll miss it for sure.

Though this chapter in my McGill life may be closing, the future is wraught with promise. First and foremost, I can hardly wait for my living arrangement next year. I will be living with my two brothers from different mothers, Dan and Yaakov, which should be a blast. The place we’ve rented in the Plateau is a beautiful 6 and a half that will no doubt provide unmatched homeliness. For all my friends abroad, I implore you to make the trip out to Montreal with the promise of either a comfy spot on the couch or a spoon with yours truly.

The next, and most drastic, big change that will be coming my way next year is a recent addition to my educational agenda. I am sticking to my guns and doing a Major in History, hopefully with Honours. However, I could not help but feel my initial Minor, English Literature, was a bit of a cop-out. I just wasn’t excited about it. Then, a few nights ago I had an epiphany that will most certainly make my next year interesting, challenging yes, but very interesting. The epiphany: East Asian Studies.

 

As many of you most likely know, I am an asiophile. From anime to gaming to samurai swords to the iconic Bruce Lee (pictured above), Asia is a continent that holds great wonder in my mind. For this reason I have decided to re-declare my minor to East Asian Studies, put my studies of French on hold and take First Level Japanese next year. This course will entail 50 minutes of instruction every day for both semesters. The word ‘intensive’ certainly comes to mind when I think of the task ahead of me. Yet, I can’t help but get giddy every time I think about it. Today I went and talked to an advisor in the department and got certification to take the Japanese class. So cross your fingers for me.

On a similar tangent, my roomate Yaakov and I have decided we’re going to study a martial art next year. Now, as much as I’ve enjoyed going to the gym this year, I must admit that it ain’t half as cool as learning karate or Jeet Kune Do, the Tao of the Intercepting Fist! As of now, I haven’t the foggiest notion which discipline I should try. I know Milan had a lot of fun with judo, the effects of which I could certainly see in our brotherly brawls. Hopefully next time we clash I will call upon my newly acquired techniques to vanquish him.  If any of you have any insight into different styles of martial artistry that you may think I’ll enjoy please let me know. 

Anyways, now classes are done and the time has come to begin studying for my exams coming up. Take care internet.

さようなら,
Sash

2 Comments

Filed under Friends, Fun, Life, School

2 responses to “Azn Persuazn

  1. The East Asian Studies minor sounds like a rather interesting idea. I frequently chose to concentrate on Asian history during the course of my IR degrees, especially insofar as it involved China and Japan.

    Good luck with your exams!

  2. oleh

    Asiophile and not to mention panda lover.

    It sounds like you have laid out a rewarding and interesting path.

Leave a Reply

