Yellowpoint Lodge

IMG_0686This weekend I went on a picturesque excursion to Yellowpoint Lodge near Nanaimo on Vancouver Island. Needless to say, there was more than my fair share of natural beauty to be admired and adored. It was a lovely way to get back into the West Coast groove and reinforce what makes BC so unique in Canada. I had a great time with the family and hope my mom had an amazing Mother’s Day.

Another notable aspect of the trip was that I read Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger. I must say that this was one of my favourite reads in a very long time. It was a breezy read, well written, and notably more to-the-point than many novels I’ve read of late. I look forward to reading more books of its calibre over the summer. If anyone has any novels similar to Catcher or any other reads that you recommend please drop the name in the comments. I am on the way to the library now to get a new library card and to see if I am still eligible for the ‘Summer Reading Club’ or if I am too old. We shall see.

Lastly, my search for a job continues. My most promising opportunity is at Red Robin where I have secured a second, ‘working’ interview, whatever that means. While I am desperate for anything full-time, I don’t really feel like watching dishes and prepping salads all summer. Beggars can’t be choosers, but if you know any places that are looking for a dedicated worker with solid credentials let me know. My resume can be found here. 

Till next time,
sash

3 Comments

Filed under Art, Books, Family, Holidays, Life, Photography

3 responses to “Yellowpoint Lodge

  1. Great shots, and it’s cool to see you taking an interest in photography.

    Photo.net is a very informative site, if you want to learn more about it. They have a free online textbook.

  2. semisane

    Thanks. I will take a look at it. It was a lot of fun taking pictures this weekend, mostly due to the amazing sights that littered the property. I was very glad I brought my point and shoot and foresee a lot of photo taking this summer. Vancouver is a very picturesque city.

  3. It certainly is, and those Canon Powershot P&S cameras are very capable. Their only major limitation is poor low-light performance.

Leave a Reply

